A Review: Gone Girl

Kaitlin Olson

In 2012, Gillian Flynn published her novel Gone Girl and almost immediately it rose to the top of the New York Times Best Seller List and found its way in living rooms across America. A little behind the times, I picked it up two years later. I already knew a few things about the book before reading it: people went crazy over it (especially the ending), there was something about a murder, and in October it will be released as a movie (which looks AWESOME by the way).

The book starts out pretty slow, but with two very interesting narrators. The first: Nick Dunne on the day of his wife’s disappearance. The second: the diary of the missing Amy Dunne beginning from the first time she met Nick. The two points of view start out in huge contrast of one another, with Nick hating his marriage and Amy head over heels for her dream man. However, since each describe their marriage so differently it is difficult to know which accounts are true and which are false.

On top of the suspicious narratives, Flynn leaves us at the end of each chapter with a big question mark. You get such a clear sense of where the story is going, that when a new piece of the puzzle emerges you feel as if you aren’t sure who or what to believe anymore. As you continue, the web of mystery that Flynn has laid down continues to grow deeper and larger. Her style of writing keeps you on the edge of your seat with no clue of what is coming next. She uses such detail to make you believe you know the cast of characters intimately, then throws something new in the mix to make you question who really is telling the truth. Believe me, even if you start a little slow and think you have it all figured out, once you reach the second part of the book you won’t be able to put it down to unveil the answers you never saw coming.

A major point of discussion for this book is the ending, leaving most readers confused or upset. I admit, that at first I couldn’t help but thinking like I had been robbed of a real ending and wanted something more climactic. Yet after letting the ending sit with me a few days, the more I thought about it the more I liked it. Had my hoped-for big and exciting ending actually happened, it would have been a book I would have forgotten about in a year. This ending forced me to question why the events played out like they did. And after spending some time with that question, I realized the characters would never have done anything differently. Which is exactly why I hate them and love this book.

Book Summary: On the morning of their 5th wedding anniversary, Amy Dunne disappears. Her husband Nick is dumbfounded, yet shows no signs of remorse. As the police continue their investigation and the community searches for the missing housewife, Nick becomes the primary suspect despite his protests. This thriller tells the story of a marriage gone wrong and makes you wonder if you really know your loved ones. 

One thought on “A Review: Gone Girl

  1. I agree with you about the ending. I wasn’t exactly upset about it when I first read it, I was just shocked. I couldn’t believe that the whole event was just kind of clouding over, especially with Nick being the narcissist that he’s made out to be. But it’s part of what makes the book so unique, and it still has me thinking about the ending nearly a year later.

Leave a Reply

